top of page
  • Writer's pictureRenai

When will my reflection show...

...Who I am inside?



Yes! We're talking Mulan today! I was really getting into the Twisted Tales series so when I saw the Sleeping Beauty and Frozen versions, I immediately snatched them up. I did see the Mulan version but it was newer and I didn't want to over spend. My husband marched me right back into Barnes and Noble to buy it. Mulan is my husbands favorite Disney movie and Disney princess. He loves everything about it so he was naturally upset that I picked our least favorite Disney stories over Mulan.


Reflection by Elizabeth Lim. I started reading the book as soon as I got home and unfortunately it wasn't my favorite out of the series. Don't get me wrong, it was good and I loved the idea of Mulan having to go into the Underworld to save Captain Shang but it just didn't hit as well as some of the others.





The story picks up during the battle with the Huns. Mulan has yet to be discovered but Shang is very injured and close to death. Mulan travels to the Underworld and makes a deal. If she can find Shang and bring him back to the surface by dawn then they are allowed to live. If she fails, they both will be trapped forever. Knowing the basic plot, I realized that not only is this a take on Mulan but also on the Greek tale about Orpheus and Eurydice. I had high expectations...


I was not a fan of Mulan. She was brave and did not back away from any conflict but most of the story was inner monologue about whether or not she should reveal who she really was. Shang was still under the impression that she was Ping and they grew close during training and grew closer while travelling the Underworld. They were learning a great deal about each other. Mulan was starting to feel guilty about lying to him and I quickly got annoyed.


If it weren't for that, I would've enjoyed it more. The conflicts and fights were very cool and the different levels of the Underworld was captivating. In some places, it seemed absolutely beautiful but in others, a complete nightmare. The way Shang and Mulan conversed was great. They were truly friends and that's all Mulan expected, a friendship that could continue even after revealing that she was a woman.


I gave this book a solid 3.5/5. I think if I didn't have such high expectations, I would've loved it! However, With Mulan being one of my top three Disney movies, it's hard not to. I highly recommend you read it despite my own feelings but if you really dont want to then here are my favorites within the series.


A Sleeping Beauty tale where Aurora never woke up and the Prince Phillip must go into her dreams to save her. Although I hate this movie and the actual tale, this was amazing. Aurora really battles to find her true self, she refuses to take the Prince's word that they are in love, and her depression was almost it's own character. I truly appreciated seeing Aurora battle not just Maleficent but also herself mentally. I heavily rooted for her and by the end, I was extremely proud of the woman she became and the queen she grew into.


Now I am a little biased as Beauty and the Beast is truly my all time favorite but this lived up to my expectations. I'll be honest, it's been a few years since I read the book so I don't remember it exactly but I loved that Belle had magic of her own. This was ultimately about what would've happened if it was Belle's mother who cursed the Beast. I enjoyed this new take is it gave Adam real character and made Belle an even stronger Heroine.


I know I said that I hated Sleeping Beauty but The Little Mermaid is truly the worst. Prince Eric is unbelievably idiotic and blind. Ariel is so superficial and extremely selfish. I dreaded reading this book but I only picked it up because of the twist. What would happen if Ariel had failed and Ursula actually married Prince Eric. Well let me tell you. Eric is still very blind to anything beyond himself. More because of Ursula than anything else so he does begin to open his eyes. Ariel is forced to rule Atlantica, more out of punishment then want as Ursula has stolen King Triton. Ariel's goals no longer revolve around Eric but in the saving of her father and in saving Eric's kingdom as it is partially her fault that his people are suffering.


If you've read any of the books, which was your favorite and why?



Happy Reading!!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page